Cleaning Edged Weapons

collect23

Members;I am new to this great forum,but not to edged weapon cleaning.We all know of the horror stories of caustic cleaners being used on beautiful blades and destoying them!There is a product called "SIMICHROME"which is produced in Germany.I assume their are dealers that sell it in Scotland or the UK.This is the finest product that in 39 years of collecting that i use without any negative results.It can be used on any Daggers,Knives,Bayonets,Swords with great results.It cleans without taking off any metal on any blade.I also collect coins and i really get upset when someone has taken it apon themselves to use Brillo,Sos or some other horrorable stuff to destroy 100 years or more of a beautiful patina.Please before you use any cleaner make sure it is going to clean,not destroy. collect23

Personlly i just use a Very Very smooth Damp Cloth to clean them then a small fan to dry them (also wiping with cloth) this is not the best of ways But it works a treat with my Hitler youth knife and K98 Bayonets, but yes you have to be very carefull, my Mate had a rare German Hitler Youth Leaders knife that was genuine, He decided to clean it up a bit one day he used a so called knife cleaner and completely ruined the beautifull knife that was worth thousands! :o

RAF - water and a fan is a very poor idea, you want to use a non-invasive and non-harming oil based material. Water will only slowly degrade the blades over a very long time.

For myself I use Gun Barrel Grease, easy to obtain from shooting stores, a light coat will protect the blades for ages. As I am in Scotland it also is important to take into account higher moisture levels in the air from all the rain. Hence a heavy grease. If I was somewhere warmer a thin coat of WD40 would be just as fine.

Note, NEVER use WD40 or other invasive greases on any plated metals, nickle, chrome, etc. Only on straight steel, preferably non-blued.