Comparing Two Imperial German WWI First Class Iron Cross's

Jarin

Hello all,

This will be my first post to this website so please forgive me if I make any mistakes, I look forward to learning from all of you. 

I am a novice collector of mainly WWII era German/Allied militaria and have been looking to branch out into WWI and have a few pieces I'm interested in but am not knowledgeable enough to confidently make these purchases, so I am hoping some of you may help me in this regard. 

The first two items I have been looking at are WWI Era First Class Iron Cross's, I am trying to decide what deal to go for but since I know next to nothing about authenticating German medals, I'm hoping to get some advice and learn from you all. 

These are unfortunately the only photos I currently have of these items, but if I am able, I will attempt to get more if needed.  

- The first Iron Cross is described as "Original Imperial German WWI Prussian "Vaulted" Non-Magnetic Iron Cross First Class 1914 with Pinback - EKI" The description also mentions there being no makers mark but mentioning that was not uncommon.  the seller also says, "Note the edge seam for authentication, which is not present on reproductions".  This piece is being sold at $375 USD. 

image.png.d83a3be41fe1bc5892a4bf19d16fd983.png

image.png.a49d60fc2d071f17f1907d5a3e17ea68.png

image.png.655e922374694881f18f865b2da80d81.png

image.thumb.png.ee027d8c1fddea83da95683ef21a664a.png

image.png.3f0b8663f3a49c67dac532223ac272eb.png

image.png.bc8df342ae1171a7680753a714a7da17.png

- The Next Iron Cross is from a different seller, described as "German Imperial. A 1914 Iron Cross I Class, With Case". The seller claims the medal comes with its original presentation case, though I am curious to know if there is a way to definitively know if the cross matches said case, such as an ID number or something.  This Cross is also being sold for $375 USD. 

iron6.png

iron3.png
iron2.png
iron4.png