Malta camo ww2 Brodie helmet? Fake?

Trenchfoot

post-37905-0-63148300-1472036322_thumb.jpegpost-37905-0-84544400-1472036335_thumb.jpegpost-37905-0-77517900-1472036346_thumb.jpegpost-37905-0-53445800-1472036363_thumb.jpegpost-37905-0-04393700-1472036379_thumb.jpeg

Hello! I recently saw online someone who was selling a Malta camouflage helmet. He or she says that they live in Malta themselves, and this helmet was in the possession of his grandfather along with another one. What I have learned trying to buy rare helmets is that you cant believe the story. I'm not an expert on Malta camo or trying to identify fakes, but this one here seems to me to be fake. Some places the rust on the helmet is just way to weird, like how it covers the unit insignia on the side, but doesn't spread over it.

Any help??

• Like 2

I would say, the helmet looks ok. The finish was probably originally factory applied. The camouflage effect was probably applied locally, as also the badge. It looks as though the badge has been erased at some later stage, and the space has rusted accordingly. It is hard to judge by photos. It is always best to take a look at things before purchasing. Paint finishes on helmets were no guarantee that the helmet would not rust, as dampness tended to penetrate the surface. These paint finishes cannot be compared with modern-day counterparts.

• Like 2